Payment on
account
Free Shipment within
GERMANY from 35€ (GER)
  • My Bookmarklist My Bookmarklist
    0
  • Basket Basket
    0 0,00

Organic Leather

Tanned leather has always been one of the most popular materials for making shoes, bags or belts. A well maintained shoe made of genuine leather often accompanies you for years. The quality and origin of the tanned skin play an important role in choosing the right product.

Nowadays, there are many more environmentally friendly alternatives for well-known materials and fabrics that the outdoor industry uses to produce new products. Organic leather also is one of these alternatives.

Bio-Leder


Which products can be labeled as 'organic'?

The term "organic" often leads to confusion, as the legal protection of the term "organic" is still an exception and only in certain cases specifically regulated.  It is  fact that since  1993 the term "organic" is protected when it is used to label food. Food and  agricultural raw materials used for clothing and textiles must comply with strict guidelines in order to be declared as an organic product.

However, it is different in the clothes and textiles sector. Here the requirements for products advertised with the word "organic" are not clearly regulated and are not legally protected or certified. In contrast to foodstuffs, there are no EU-wide guidelines for leather, for example.

Thus there is no generally applicable specification as to when a leather may be called organic leather or eco-leather. Various manufacturers, however, attach great importance to the tanning and processing of the hide to be able to distinguish themselves from the standards of industrial production of  leather through vegetable tanning and without long transport routes.

In order to label tanned leather as "organic", the manufacturers set their own guidelines according to which they act. These mainly concern the issue of animal welfare.
 

Animal welfare is a top priority

Making sure that the animals that give their skin for the production of outdoor articles lead a good life- this is the guide for the production of organic leather. Organic leather comes from cattle that grew up living in their natural habitat - pastures and meadows. The animals can move freely, roll in the green grass and eat and drink as they please. Species-appropriate husbandry is a top priority and is guaranteed.

Since cattle can injure themselves more quickly when grazing than animals that live exclusively indoors, the norm in animal husbandry for the production of leather is, unfortunately, still stable farming. This is because injuries can impair the quality and appearance of the leather. Scars or the like therefore lead to a lower sales price of the leather and thus to a minimization of profit. If a cattle hide is damaged, it cannot be processed completely and losses occur. To avoid these losses, industrial mass production relies on stable farming.

Animal welfare is more important for the manufacturers of eco-leather than losses in the quantity of tanned animal skin. The losses are gladly accepted in order to give the cattle a bit of normality and to provide them with a life appropriate to their species.
 

Vegetable tanning - a good alternative

In order to tan leather more ecologically, vegetable tanning is often used. Instead of the usual chemicals, which release a large amount of toxins, only vegetable tanning agents are used. By tanning with vegetable tanning agents such as spruce bark or oak wood, no heavy metals or toxic salts are dissolved in the tanning liquor, which can enter our environment through the waste water.

Organic Leather-Produkte

Colors

Size

  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
  • 9,5UK
  • 12,0UK
Meindl Serfaus Identity
Meindl
Serfaus Identity
289,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 47,0
desenrasco Pioneiro
desenrasco
Pioneiro
209,50 €
418,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
  • 9,5UK
  • 10,0UK
  • 10,5UK
  • 11,0UK
  • 11,5UK
  • 12,0UK
  • 13,0UK
  • 14,0UK
  • 15,0UK
Meindl Linosa Identity
Meindl
Linosa Identity
259,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
  • 9,5UK
  • 10,0UK
  • 10,5UK
  • 11,0UK
  • 11,5UK
  • 12,0UK
  • 12,5UK
  • 13,0UK
Hanwag Waxenstein Bio
Hanwag
Waxenstein Bio
269,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 4,5UK
  • 5,0UK
  • 5,5UK
  • 6,0UK
  • 6,5UK
  • 7,0UK
  • 7,5UK
  • 8,0UK
Meindl Ascona Lady Identity
Meindl
Ascona Lady Identity
249,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
  • 9,5UK
  • 10,0UK
  • 10,5UK
  • 11,0UK
  • 11,5UK
  • 12,0UK
Meindl Ascona Identity
Meindl
Ascona Identity
249,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 4,0UK
  • 4,5UK
  • 5,0UK
  • 5,5UK
  • 6,0UK
  • 6,5UK
  • 7,0UK
  • 7,5UK
  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
Hanwag Waxenstein Bio Lady
Hanwag
Waxenstein Bio Lady
269,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 4,0UK
  • 4,5UK
  • 5,0UK
  • 5,5UK
  • 6,0UK
  • 6,5UK
  • 7,0UK
  • 7,5UK
  • 8,0UK
Meindl Linosa Lady Identity
Meindl
Linosa Lady Identity
259,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
  • 9,5UK
  • 10,0UK
  • 10,5UK
  • 11,0UK
  • 11,5UK
  • 12,0UK
Meindl Bergamo Identity
Meindl
Bergamo Identity
279,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 4,0UK
  • 4,5UK
  • 5,0UK
  • 5,5UK
  • 6,0UK
  • 6,5UK
  • 7,0UK
  • 7,5UK
  • 8,0UK
Meindl Bergamo Lady Identity
Meindl
Bergamo Lady Identity
279,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 8,0UK
  • 8,5UK
  • 9,0UK
  • 9,5UK
  • 10,0UK
  • 10,5UK
  • 11,0UK
  • 11,5UK
  • 12,0UK
  • 13,0UK
  • 14,0UK
Meindl Tessin Identity
Meindl
Tessin Identity
289,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 4,5UK
  • 5,0UK
  • 5,5UK
  • 6,0UK
  • 6,5UK
  • 7,0UK
  • 7,5UK
  • 8,0UK
Meindl Tessin Lady Identity
Meindl
Tessin Lady Identity
289,95 €

Colors

Size

  • 5,0UK
  • 6,0UK
  • 6,5UK
  • 8,0UK
Meindl Saalbach Lady Identity
Meindl
Saalbach Lady Identity
379,95 €
Unterwegs der Outdoor-Shop

Kauf auf
Rechnung
Versand innerhalb
Deutschlands gratis ab 35€

Bio-Leder

Gegerbtes Leder gehört schon immer zu den beliebtesten Materialien zur Herstellung von Schuhen, Taschen oder Gürteln. Ein gut gepflegter Schuh aus echtem Leder begleitet Dich oft über Jahre hinweg. Klar, dass die Qualität und die Herkunft der gegerbten Haut bei der Auswahl des richtigen Produkts eine große und wichtige Rolle spielen.

Heutzutage gibt es in der Outdoor Branche viele umweltfreundlichere Alternativen für altbekannte Materialien und Stoffe. Auch das Bio-Leder kann sich in die Reihe dieser Alternativen mit einsortieren.

Bio-Leder


Wann ist Bio wirklich Bio?

Der Begriff "Bio" führt oftmals zu Verwirrung, denn der rechtliche Schutz für den Begriff "Bio" ist noch immer eine Ausnahme und nur in bestimmten Fällen konkret geregelt. Fakt ist, dass der Begriff "Bio" im Zusammenhang mit Lebensmitteln seit 1993 unter Schutz steht. Lebensmittel und auch landwirtschaftliche Rohstoffe für Bekleidung und Textilien müssen strenge Richtlinien einhalten um als ein Bio Produkt deklariert zu werden.

Anders ist es jedoch mit der Bezeichnung im Kleidungs- und Textilbereich. Hier sind die Anforderungen an Produkte, die mit dem Wort "Bio" beworben werden, nicht klar geregelt und vor allem nicht rechtlich geschützt oder zertifiziert. Anders als bei Lebensmitteln gibt es beispielsweise für Leder keine EU-weiten Richtlinien.

Somit gibt es keine einheitliche Vorgabe, wann ein Leder als Bio-Leder oder Eco-Leder bezeichnet werden darf. Verschiedene Hersteller legen jedoch bei der Gerbung und Verarbeitung der Haut viel Wert darauf, sich durch pflanzliche Gerbung und ohne lange Transportwege von den standardmäßigen industriellen Fertigungen des Leders abzusetzen.

Um das gegerbte Leder mit "Bio" zu labeln, setzen die Hersteller ihre eigenen Richtlinien, nach denen sie handeln. Diese belaufen sich vor allem auf das Thema Tierwohl.
 

Tierwohl wird groß geschrieben

Den Tieren, die ihre Haut für die Herstellung von Outdoor-Artikel geben, ein gutes Leben bescheren - dies ist der Leitfaden für die Herstellung von Bio-Leder. Bio-Leder stammt von Rindern, die in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum - auf Weiden und Wiesen - aufwachsen und leben. Die Tiere können sich frei bewegen, im grünen Gras wälzen und nach Lust und Laune fressen und trinken. Artgerechte Haltung wird groß geschrieben und sichergestellt.

Da sich die Rinder bei der Weidehaltung schneller verletzen können als Tiere, die ausschließlich im Stall leben, ist die Norm in der Tierhaltung zur Produktion von Leder bedauerlicherweise immer noch die Stallhaltung. Denn Verletzungen führen dazu, dass die Qualität und Optik des Leders beeinträchtigt werden kann. Narben oder ähnliches führen somit zu einem niedrigeren Verkaufspreis des Leders und somit zu einer Gewinnminimierung. Ist eine Rinderhaut beschädigt, kann sie nicht komplett verarbeitet werden, es kommt zu Verlusten. Um diese Einbußen zu vermeiden, wird in der industriellen Massenfertigung auf Stallhaltung gesetzt.

Tierwohl hat bei Ökoleder einen höheren Stellenwert als Verluste in der Quantität der gegerbten Tierhaut. Die Einbußen werden gerne in Kauf genommen, um den Rindern ein Stück Normalität zu geben und ihnen ein artgerechtes Leben zu verschaffen.
 

Pflanzliche Gerbung - eine gute Alternative

Um Leder ökologischer zu gerben, wird gerne auf vegetabile Gerbung gesetzt. Anstatt der üblichen Chemikalien, die eine große Menge Giftstoffe freisetzen, werden dabei ausschließlich Pflanzengerbstoffe verwendet. Durch die Gerbung mit pflanzlichen Gerbstoffen wie Fichtenrinde oder Eichenholz lösen sich in der Gerbbrühe keine Schwermetalle oder giftige Salze, die durch das Abwasser in unsere Umwelt gelangen können.

Bio-Leder-Produkte

Unterwegs